Regional typical food: delicacies you can’t miss.
Notte della Taranta: Puglia is ready to dance!
August 24, 2012
“Alla salute!” a journey through Italian best regional wines.
September 14, 2012
We just added a new section regarding typical products for every Italian Region. (List last update: January 2013)
Food in Italy is a true expression of every Region and its culture.
Every traditional regional product is made by natural ingredients that you can find only in that region (sometimes only in one town!). Every food comes with its flavors from the past.
These products are part of the historical, cultural and social heritage of every town and of the whole region.
It’s exciting to know that there are places where you can still eat foods prepared in the same way for centuries. In this way you can enjoy the same food of your ancestors and you can feel the same taste.
For the pleasure of your “Italian Side”….

Click on a region
cartina italia cliccabile

valle daosta piemonte lombardia trentino alto adige veneto friuli venezia giulia emilia romagna liguria toscana umbria marche abruzzo lazio molise puglia campania basilicata calabria sicilia sardegna

That’s why Italy, with its Regions, is trying to protect the authenticity of typical food, preserving the product names and their uniqueness from any imitations and abuses.
Typical regional products today are identified and recognized by Italy and European Community as
Denominazione di Origine Protetta (DOP) or Protected Designation of Origin (PDO) and Indicazione Geografica Protetta (IGP) Protected Geographical Indication (PGI).
This designation serves on the other hand as a protection for consumers all over the world. It provides them with the guarantee that the information about the origin and quality of the products corresponds to the truth.

To read the lists of typical foods for every region, click the region on the map or the name list below.
In these lists there are not wines: you can find Italian regional wines here.
(remember that same food can be protected in different regions: it means that all those regions were recognized to have the same product)

Emilia Romagna
Friuli Venezia Giulia
Trentino Alto Adige
Valle d’Aosta